Military Life Answers:

Answers for Family; New and Experienced

The Kiss of the Ages

Posted by Jeremy Brown on October 3, 2008

Dear Reader,

Words can never describe it.  It takes your breath away and that is a fair task since you can remember holding that breath for quite some time.  What am I talking about?  The Kiss.  It can be that tender kiss of leave-taking that seals to your Soldier your hopes that they return safely and your kind wishes and regard.  It can also be that unrestrained and passionate lip-lock that lets flow the flood of many months of bottledemotion coupled with the relief that they are home safe.  I start this blog with this point because as of late it has become a focus for the life of the military spouse in the minds of many.  Either we are preparing for them to leave or we are preparing for them to return.  We hurry up….and then wait…and wait.

We wait because we love them.  We wait because we understand their sacrifice.  We understand because we commit our own sacrifices while they are away.  In my time with the military; as a brat, Soldier and Spouse, I have witnessed heroics, yet none have touched me so much as the heroics I have seen while serving as a Spouse. They stand steadfast, resolute and forever in the rear supporting their Soldiers.  For them I decided to write this blog because I want to support my fellow spouses in my own way.  I have some knowledge; I have tripped and fallen, yet I got up.  I want to share what tripped me and how to avoid it, but most of all I want to share that there is a helping hand right here in case someone needs it.

With Regards,

Jeremy Brown

6 Responses to “The Kiss of the Ages”

  1. Terra said

    You write beautifully! I will definitely enjoy reading your blog as I travel down this long road of deployment. My blog is at http://terramee143.wordpress.com/ –Terra

  2. household 6 hooah said

    What a lovely post! And I am anticipating that kiss!!!!

    I have added you to my blogroll! It will be nice to have a man’s perspective. Looking forward to reading more!

  3. Thanks to you both for commenting. I welcome and appreciate the support. Please bear with me as I muddle through this, but as you both know, milspouses can be a resourceful lot.

  4. Yay, I’m so glad you got started!!! I love the way you write, I can’t wait to read more! :)

  5. Kristie said

    I am so glad that you’ve started your blog! You have such a way with words. I am looking forward to reading more posts ;-)

  6. Thanks for the support and I look forward to more posts. Hopefully with time I can learn to edit the aesthetic portions of this blog.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

