Military Life Answers:

Answers for Family; New and Experienced

Why Should You Support The Military? A One Word Answer

Posted by Jeremy Brown on October 24, 2008


CHOICE

Yes, that is the answer to the question.  Here is how it is the answer from three different perspectives.

The Service Member

This is perhaps the best start of the discussion on why you should support the military.  It is because of the Choice of a Service Member that you should.  One sunny day a young man, barely old enough for the moniker of man will walk in off the street to a recruiter’s office.  Why is he there?  It’s unimportant in this particular discussion.  He is there, by choice, to sign up to serve his Country.  In this time of both great need and peril he makes this choice to serve his Country.  He raises a hand and swears an Oath.  It is not to a political party, a person or even a particular Divinity.  Look at the Oath.  They volunteer to go fight, leave their families for long period of time and possibly die on soil that is not their home.  Why?  Because they made a choice to do so thereby giving you the choice and chance to enjoy many freedoms, rights and privileges.

The Spouse

The next level of exploration is that near and dear to my heart, the Spouse.  You can’t choose your Family, but you sure can choose your Spouse.  Military Spouses choose to remain with their Service Members.  They do this through thick and thin, happiness and sometimes the deepest of anguish.  It is not a globe trotting thrill fest of world cuisine and European shopping.  It is nights alone with a sick child (or two).  It is weeks without contact because of a blackout order on their base in Iraq.  It is that conflicting emotion to hug the friend who just lost her Service Member fighting with the relief that this one time it was not yours.  It is the joy of Homecomings.  It is the the lingering sadness of yet another Leave taking.  It is a choice.  They make a choice to stay with that life and support that Service Member.  They make that choice because they love their Country and their Service Member.  They do this so that others can make the choice to live in the same place for twenty years and have their children go to the same school for their entire lives.

You

You may fit into one or both of the levels above, but there are others who may not.  Yet even the Service Member and the Spouse have additional ways to support the Troops.  Its easy.  Choose.  Choose whether to read this blog or not.  Choose whether to share it or not.  Choose to stand for the National Anthem.  Choose to salute the flag.  Choose to vote.  Choose your own path of spirituality.  Choose.  Remember that your ability to choose does not come cheap nor is it bargained for lightly.  That Choice has centuries of ideology, blood, grime, grit and determination on it.  Never clean it.  Be proud of it.  Cherish it.  Make a stand and choose.  Choose to support the Troops that have made a stand to support you.  They made a choice to support you.  Doesn’t it seem logical for you to choose to do the same?

8 Responses to “Why Should You Support The Military? A One Word Answer”

  1. Excellent! What a great take on the question we posed. Can’t wait to share it on our site.

  2. […] 24, 2008 in army | Tags: army, Military, Spouse, Support I wish I could take credit for this. My Twitter friend over at military answers wrote this today, and I think it’s wonderfully […]

  3. Good point. Though I support the military, I really have a lot of misgivings about it as a whole. It’s all very hard to explain and I couldn’t do it here, but I do agree and believe that without service members like you, we Americans wouldn’t even have that – choice.

  4. Re: Diane Penna

    I support your ability and choice to have a problem with it. I am proud that you have that ability and I am glad you choose to express your opinion. What good is a right or privilege if it is never exercised.

  5. Not many people feel the way you to, though. Most people would turn around and bash me for saying one bad word about the military. To be honest, I’m not even sure what I have a problem with. I guess a lot of it is selfish reasons, not wanting my friends or family to sacrifice their lives, but then why should I hope other families sacrifice instead? That’s so mean of me. I just remember when my little brother said he was applying for the Blue Angels or whatever it was…(see, I don’t even know the proper names of military groups LOL)–all I could think was I don’t want to lose my brother because he loves planes. I’d rather he went to school with an art scholarship, or something else. He was at the top of his class and SO smart. Turns out he didn’t get in the AF program he wanted because of something minor that happened when he was 10 or something…but instead went into the Navy’s nuclear sub program, and was at the top of his class there as well. In fact, he did so well that he became disenfranchised with it all because those lower than him didn’t do their part blah blah blah…and they wanted to pay him big bucks to sign back on for another 4 years, but he turned them down and got out after his first 4 years of service time was up. He did end up getting a great $150k job in the civil world because of that experience…so now I’m grateful to the Navy….but I bet if there had been a war and my brother had lost his life I’d be forever resentful.

    Wow, sorry that ended up being so long. Guess I felt like I had to explain myself. :)

  6. When the loss of human life is possible mixed emotions are to be expected. Its best to put aside what might have beens concerning your brother’s service. He served his country and in my opinion that makes him remarkable. I appreciate the explanation!

  7. I have gotten over it with regard to my brother, but I guess it’s the constant news each night about more and more service members being killed…and I think, that’s somebody’s brother. *sigh* It’s inevitable, but you’re right, I need to see the bigger picture.

  8. […] Why should you support the military? A one word answer (MA) […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

